Year of the Horse

North of the 400

I lived in Oshawa a few years back. When I moved there I was’t much of a junior hockey fan; I grew up in a small town that didn’t have a local team and I was lucky if I saw a St. Johns Maple Leafs game on Saturday mornings in those days. That was the AHL. The OHL was a non-entity on television as a kid. It started showing up a little more as I grew up: I remember watching a Memorial Cup back when Sportsnet was owned by CTV.

But I honestly didn’t pay the league any attention until the 2005 NHL lockout when the only other hockey on was the occasional TSN re-broadcast of stuff from the 80s. That was the year Rimouski won 35 straight games, no doubt thanks to a young Sidney Crosby. They tore it up through the playoffs, only losing one game, before losing…

View original post 1,086 more words

Leave a Reply

